Personal Development Curriculum (PDC)

Director of Learning: SMSC

Mrs K Doyle – kdoyle7@oriel.w-susssex.sch.uk

Teaching Staff

Mrs H Ashleigh-Morris – hashleigh-morris@oriel.w-sussex.sch.uk

Mr A Bairsto – abairsto@oriel.w-sussex.sch.uk

Ms K Cullerton – kculleton@oriel.w-sussex.sch.uk

Miss S Das – sdas@oriel.w-sussex.sch.uk

Miss S Hops – shops@oriel.w-sussex.sch.uk

Mr M Jayasuriya – mjayasuriya@oriel.w-sussex.sch.uk

Mrs S Jones – sjones@oriel.w-sussex.sch.uk

Miss H Martin – hmartin@oriel.w-sussex.sch.uk

Mrs M Matchett – mmatchett@oriel.w-sussex.sch.uk

Mr C McGovern – cmcgovern@oriel.w-sussex.sch.uk

Miss H Nichols – hnichols@oriel.w-sussex.sch.uk

Miss S Philip – sphilip@oriel.w-sussex.sch.uk

Miss K Rumsby – krumsby@oriel.w-sussex.sch.uk

Mrs M Sayfoo – msayfoo@oriel.w-sussex.sch.uk

Mr J Smith – jsmith4@oriel.w-sussex.sch.uk

Mr R Smith – rsmith@oriel.w-sussex.sch.uk

Mr M Sykes – msykes@oriel.w-sussex.sch.uk

Miss P Taylor – ptaylor11@oriel.w-sussex.sch.uk

Ms M Young – myoung@oriel.w-sussex.sch.uk


Subject Overview

PDC is taught to all year groups once a fortnight and to the sixth form through the mentor time programme. Students cover the areas of citizenship (including democracy, government, how laws are made and fundamental British values) , personal health and wellbeing, relationships and sex education, financial capability and economic wellbeing.


The main topics covered include:

Year 7: Respect (both on and offline), healthy relationships, my body (including puberty and body image), and changing families.

Year 8: Crime and the law (including financial crime), Real Love Rocks and UK politics.

Year 9: Challenging extremism, drugs and alcohol, relationships and sex education and oracy.

Year 10: My health, money matters, managing risk and global politics.

Year 11: Mental and emotional health, respect and relationships, online behavior and the media.


Students in Key Stage Three will also have the opportunity to take part in an initiative called ‘The Edge.’ This is a nationally accredited scheme run by PiXL in conjunction with employers across the UK to help students to improve key skills and attributes that employers are telling us students need: leadership, organisation, resilience, initiative and communication skills (LORIC). The Edge gives students a qualification which runs alongside their academic successes, recognising what they can do as well as what they know.


New Curriculum Guidance

New guidance has been published by the Department for Education making both relationships and sex education and health education statutory for all secondary schools in the UK from September 2020. Oriel High School will be working as Early Adopters with the aim of implementing this from September 2019. Please see the document below if you would like further information about these changes:

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/relationships-sex-and-health-education-guides-for-schools

If you have any questions regarding the planning or delivery of any aspect of the PDC course, or about the new curriculum changes, please do not hesitate to get in touch at the following email address: PDCParents@oriel.w-sussex.sch.uk